About Khammam


Khammam is one of the Historical Town of Andhra Pradesh, having nearly 1000 years of traceable History. It is the head quarters town of the District Khammam and a Municipal Corporation, with an extent of 18.53 Sq. Kms. The Municipality was constituted in to a Municipality on 24.03.1942 and upgraded as special grade Municipality in the year 2001. Administratively Khammam is divided in to 11 revenue wards with 41 Election wards.  On October 19, 2012 Khammam city has been    announced  as Municipal Corporation, adding 9 Grama Panchayats  around it which developed in business with the town.

Presently  Khammam has 20 revenues wards and 50 election divisions( G.O.Ms.No: 78 dated 16.06.2015 )


Timeline of Khammam Municipal Corporation


1952 Grade-IIIMunicipality
1959 Upgraded to Grade-IIMunicipality
1980 Grade-I Municipality
2001 SpecialGradeMunicipality(G.O. No. 208, M.A., dt. 18.05.2001.
2012 Municipal Corporation(G.O.Ms.No.399,MA&UD.,Dt:19.10.2012


The Municipal Corporation is divided in to 50 Municipal Election Wards as shown in the Plan



Khammam is an important District Head Quarters town in Telangana State. It is situated on the Kazipet Vijayawada broad gauge railway line of the South Central Railway at distance of about 100 kms from vijayawada and 259 kms from Hyderabad. It is also located on the Hyderabad Rajamundry State High Way. The river Munneru flows on the western side of the town. It is accessible by road and rail and is well connected to the head quarters of the neighbor district and Taluks by fairly good roads asseured by regular bus services


It has been the head quarters of the district since 1953. it is also a divisional and taluk head quarters. It has a population of 2,84,268  as per 2011 Census with an area of 94.37 Sq. kms. It has developed in to an important center of education with three Arts and Science Colleges and other educational institutions. The Government head quarters hospital and the MissionHospital provide higher order medical facilities to the entire region of the town. It is a trading centre for the agricultural produce of its hinder land. It is also an important commercial centre.


Khammam is located at 17.25 N 80.15 E. It has an average elevation of 107 meters (351 feet). It is bounded by Chattisgarh state to the north. Orissa state to the northeast, East and West Godavari districts to the east, Krishna Distric of andhra pradesh statet to the South, Nalgonda District  of telangana state to the southwest, and Warangal Distict of Telangana to the West. .



Khammam Municipal corporation has 2,84,268 as per 2011 census.In that 1,40809 is male population ,1,43,459 is female population .Khammam had a population of 159775, as per the 2001 Indian Census, Males Constitute 51% of the population and Females 49%. Khammam has an average literace rate of 72% higher than the national average of 59.5% male literacy is 78%, and female literace is 66%. In Khammam, 11% of the population is under 6 years of age.

It can be seen that there was a sudden rise of population during 1971 1981 which has declined in the following years and this prevents the reliability on the date for coming years. It should also be taken unto account that in very near future, few other surrounding gram panchayats like Khammam Haveli etc., are also going to be merged in KhammamMunicipality. The decadal growth rate is given bellow table.


Period Decadal Growth Rate
1971-1981 73.37%
1981-1991 29.70%
1991-2001 24.83%
2001-2011 56.21%

Population including population of SCs, STs and Women:  The SC population in Corporation is 33,632, STs 13,608 and Women population 1,43,459 as per Census 2011.

Composition of Municipal Councils:

The First nomination body took charge with effect from 1-4-1942 with (13) nominated members consisting of (8) non-official members and (5) officials. Sri. Ramlal, Deputy Collector was the 1st Chairman of the nominated body. The first election was held in 1952 with (17) elected members (3) officials and (4) nominated members and took charge on    12-11-1952 with Sri. Chiravuri Laxminarsaiah as first elected Chairman for the period 12.11.1952 to 21.09.1958.

The Second election was conducted in May 1961 and Sri. Sri. Chiravuri Laxminarsaiah was again elected as Chairman of Khammam Municipality for Second time for the period from 22.05.1961 to 10.09.1964. The Third elections were held on 24.09.1697 and again Sri. Chiravuri Laxminarsaiah was elected as Chairman for the Third time for the period from 04.10.1966 to 30.09.1972. The forth Municipal Elections were held on 24-08-1981 and again Sri. Chiravuri Laxminarsaiah was elected as Chairman for the Forth time for the period 24.08.1981 to 30.06.1986. The fifth election was held on 18th March 1987 and Sri. Chiravuri Laxminarsaiah was again elected as Chairman for the Fifth time for the period from 30.03.1987 to 28.03.1992. The Sixth elected body taken over the charge on 29.03.1995 with Sri. Raparthy Ranga Rao as Charman of the Municipal Council for the period from 29.03.1995 to 28.03.2000 and the Seventh elected body taken over the charge on 29.03.2000 with Smt. Nagamallika s the Chairman of the Khammam Municipal council for the period from 29.03.2000 to 28.03.2005 and Eigth elected body taken over the charge on 29.09.2005 with Smt. Afroz Sameena as Chairman of the municipal council from 29.09.2005. The KhammamMunicipality upgraded as special Grade on 18.05.2001 vide G.O. Ms. No. 208 M.A. dt. 18.05.2001.  Later on By merging 9 Grampanchayats into municipality it upgraded as Municipal Corporation vide G.O.Ms.No.of MA&UD 399 dated.19-10-2012.